Family Fomitopsidaceae Jülich

Bibliotheca Mycologica 85: 367 (1981)

Type: Fomitopsis P. Karst. 1881

The phylogenetic group known as the antrodia clade contains the family Fomitopsidaceae. The following species have been identified for Chicago Region, though some additional Antrodia s.l. await identification.

  1. Amyloporiella
  2. Antrodia, A. favescens
  3. unplaced Antrodia sensu lato, A. malicola, A. serialis
  4. Antrodiopsis
  5. Buglossoporus
  6. Cartilosoma
  7. Daedalea, D. quercina
  8. Dentiporus
  9. Fomitopsis, F. betulina (previously Piptoporus)
  10. Fragifomes
  11. Lentoporia
  12. Melanoporia
  13. Neoantrodia
  14. Neolentiporus
  15. Niveoporofomes, N. spraguei (previously Fomitopsis)
  16. Resinoporia
  17. Rhodofomes
  18. Rhodofomitopsis
  19. Rubellofomes
  20. Subantrodia
  21. Ungulidaedalea

Species reported for Chicago in Moffatt (1909) that are not confirmed.

Daedaleaceae and Piptoporaceae are considered synonyms. Antrodia and Grifola were moved out of the Meripilaceae because they are not related to Meripilus.
Related links:
Ortiz-Santana, Lindner, Miettinen, Justo, and Hibbett. 2013. A phylogenetic overview of the antrodia clade (Basidiomycota, Polyporales). Mycologia 105(6): 1391-1411.
Taxon links:
81772 MycoBank ; Index Fungorum