Back to menu

The 2008 North American Mycological Association Foray

Camp Pinewood, McCall, Idaho
September 3 - 7, 2008


The 49th annual North American Mycological Association foray, honoring Dr. Orson K. Miller, Jr., was held at Camp Pinewood, McCall, Idaho, on September 3 - 7, 2008, and hosted by the Southern Idaho Mycological Association (SIMA). Idaho has seen five previous NAMA forays: four were up north at Priest Lake (1966, 1968, 1972, 1986) and one was just south of McCall at Donnelly in 1976. Participants explored many sites around McCall in the Payette National Forest. There was one trip to Boise National Forest, and a few to other locals. Site elevations ranged from 4000 to 6400 feet. The rugged glacier-carved mountains are part of the Idaho Batholith, the largest granitic body of rock in the United States. Basalt lava flows are found in the western portion. Habitats were mixed conifer forests of lodgepole pine, ponderosa pine, Douglas-fir, grand fir, and western larch, with aspen at some sites, and with Englemann spruce and subalpine fir at higher elevations.

The resulting species list has 266 taxa (species, varieties, and some identified only to genus) comprised of 55 ascomycetes (38 lichens), 210 basidiomycetes, and 1 myxomycetes (slime molds). The most diverse genera were Cortinarius (25), Russula (18), and Suillus (10). There are 251 voucher collections preserved from the foray. Identifications were made by 23 people at the foray: Principal Mycologist Cathy L. Cripps was kindly assisted by Vera Evenson, with special thanks to Roger Rosentreter (lichens), Joshua M. Birkebak (Cortinarius and others), Michael W. Beug (Ramaria and others), Thomas J. Volk, Steven L. Miller (Russula), Steven A. Trudell, and the other mycologists. Several specimens were later determined by Patrick Leacock and Wyatt Gaswick at The Field Museum.

Patrick offers much multi-tasking thanks to Adele Mehta (recorder), Wyatt Gaswick (voucher assistant), NAMA sponsored graduate students Joshua M. Birkebak, University of Washington, and Jeffrey C. Cameron, George Washington University. Also much thanks to John Plischke and Noah Siegel for help with photography, and the other volunteers who gave of their time. Special thanks to SIMA members MaryLu Anderson, Bob Chehey, Linda Fleetwood, Susan Poland, Kathy Richmond, Susan Stacy, and Genny Steiner for room setup, computer, specimen labels, supplies, and running the bus forays. Heartfelt thanks to Hope Miller for supplying Orson's library and helping with mushroom dryers and shipping specimens to the museum.

We thank the board and trustees of NAMA for their continued support of the voucher program. Thanks also go to mycology volunteer Alice Pilar and our summer interns for processing specimens in the herbarium. The NAMA 2008 specimens are accessioned into the permanent herbarium collection at the Field Museum of Natural History (F).

Submitted by Patrick Leacock, NAMA Voucher Collection Project [ ]